Sinfonia new works Competition

The Sinfonia is pleased to announce a call for new and unpublished (chamber) orchestral scores by Minnesota composers.

Thanks to generous support from McKnight Foundation, five new works will premiere during the 2019-20 season.

Winning composers receive compensation ranging between $500 and $6,000 (see below).



Young Composer Entry Deadline: June 1, 2019

$500 awarded to a “young composer,” meaning any composer who meets the guidelines below, and is under the age of 19 before January 1, 2019.

Adult Composer Entry Deadline: August 15, 2019

Guidelines/Requirements for eligibility:

  • The submitted work must be a new, unpublished composition that has not been performed by a professional orchestra.
  • Composers must be native born or current residents of the state of Minnesota.
  • The work should be between five and eight minutes long (1- 2 movements).
  • The instrumentation can be no larger than the following (Note: no divisis for any of the strings):
    • 1 flute (no double to piccolo)
    • 2 oboes (no doubles to English horn)
    • 1 clarinet (A and/or B flat, no bass or e flat)
    • 1 bassoon
    • 2 French horns
    • 1 trumpet
    • 1 timpani player (2 drums max) which can include ad lib percussion (drum set and a few auxiliary instruments. NOTE: If you include ad lib percussion, it, and the timpani must be playable by one person, and the percussion is not needed to give a good rendition of the work.)
    • violin I and II
    • viola
    • cello
    • bass
  • The work must include the full string compliment listed above, but does not necessarily have to use all of the winds and timpani.
  • The work can be an arrangement of another of the composer’s compositions, but the original piece also must be unpublished, and not have been performed by professional musicians in concert settings.
  • The music must be written in a “conservative” style, appropriate for a broad mix of audience members –Avant-garde and/or experimental writing are not acceptable.
  • Score must be prepared and submitted in music software Finale 2014 or earlier, or Sibelius 7 or earlier. XML versions of Sibelius files will be required.
  • All winning compositions and the individual parts must be formatted in 8.5×11” pages. Formatting instructions will be provided.
  • Previous recipients of this grant program within the past five years (2013 until the present) are not eligible to enter again.
  • Four composers works selected. One composer receives $6,000, and the remaining three composers share $8,500, with amounts determined by the Sinfonia.
  • All decisions made by Minnesota Sinfonia Artistic Director, Jay Fishman are final.

Contact: Jay Fishman, 612.871.1701,

Submit your piece, along with contact information and any notes to:

Funding for this program generously provided by


Get the latest news about upcoming concerts and events.
Bonus! To receive postcard reminders for concerts, send us your mailing address. Don't worry, we never share lists, so sign up today!


By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: MN Sinfonia, 901 North 3rd St, Suite 112, Minneapolis, MN, 55401, You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact